Why I fell in love with Bag of Beans

I first read about Bag of Beans in Venus‘s blog post. The place seemed really chill, and the food looked yummy. And it stuck on my mind to go there when I go to Tagaytay. I finally had the chance last week when we went there for some errand. We went there on the way back, after gallivanting at Sky Ranch. We already had a late lunch but I really wanted to go so my companions had no choice, being that I was the driver. 😛 And they regretted eating earlier when we got there. Wanna know why? Come with me as we through this charming entrance…

Bag of BeansI was quite surprised that the quaint little entrance belied a pretty large dining area. It was really very cozy, with huge plants and foliage all around. The dining sets were charmingly mismatched, with some modern and rustic pieces placed adjacent to each other. It was all really charming really. But since there were other diners there as well, I settled for taking pictures of just our immediate vicinity so as not to infringe on their privacy.

dragonfly fountainTable 20Table 21Our chosen not-so-little dining nook. My companions are all seated on the bed-like sofa. Aside from the thick mattress, there were plenty of large pillows as well. Francine immediately removed her boots and climbed up on it once we got there. 😀 Since we were not really hungry, it took us a long time to choose our food. We settled for snacks. Check out their menu:

Bag of Beans Menu frontBag of Beans Menu back

Plenty of choices to suit everyone’s fancy. I wanted to try them all! 😀 But as I was still kinda full, I did not order a full course meal. I was torn between having pie or pancakes, but eventually my sweet tooth won out.

Chocolate Chips PancakesI had the Chocolate Chips Pancakes to share with Francine. This was what Venus ordered in her blog post and I did say I’ll try it since I love anything and everything chocolate anyway. It did not disappoint. The pancakes were served three-stack with a pretty swirl of butter on top, a coupla slices of orange and syrup (or was that honey?) on a syrup pourer. I was able to eat only one and had the remaining two packed for takeout.

Coffee Choco Banana FrostI also had Coffee Choco Banana Frost. Again, this was what was on Venus’s blog post. Seeing a pattern here? 😛 Anywho, the tumbler was full to almost overflowing when it arrived. But excited creature that I was, I already had a coupla hearty sips before remembering to take a photo. 😀 And yes, it was really yummy.

Pork EmpanadaMama had a Pork Empanada. We were surprised when the crew placed the plate in front of her. This is no ninety-eight pound weakling empanada! It was pretty huge and stuffed full of savory ground meat. The bread was just right, soft but almost crunchy outside. Very filling fare, definitely worth its price.

Bacon & EggMy cousin and Tita chose to share this Bacon & Eggs from the Kid’s Menu. They did not scrimp on the crunchy bacon, see? The tiny pandesal were just the right softness too. That’s a ball of butter in the ramekin if you’re wondering. The vegetables looked pretty fresh too.

The crews were really nice and accommodating too. The guy who took our order (I forgot to ask his name, my bad) even offered and gave my cousin a painkiller when he noticed that her face was scrunched in pain; she had a toothache that time. There was an ongoing raffle that time and they asked us to fill up some complimentary tickets. After filling them out, this sight greeted us when we turned to look for Francine:

sleeping FrancineThe combination of Tagaytay’s cool climate and the comfy sofa lulled my little girl to sleep. 😀 Doesn’t help that she got tired out from all that playing in Sky Ranch and Mushroomburger’s playground. We would have loved to let her sleep a bit more in that comfy position (and the crew were pretty gracious about letting us stay longer on her account) but we really had to go.

I am already planning to go back next time I go to Tagaytay. 😀 How about you, have you been to Bag of Beans?

23 thoughts on “Why I fell in love with Bag of Beans

  1. Ages ago we’ve tried their famous shepherd’s pie and it was so hearty and filling. Might head out to Tagaytay (and drop by BOB for their breads as well) after Feb.14 as traffic is always crazy at that time.

    Like

  2. i’ve been there! Everytime we go to tagayatay, It’s a must for us to visit the place. I love the ambiance and their hot drinks! Last time we had the breakfast sampler. sulit and pang dalawang tao na! Haven’t tried their empanada yet though. But will sure do on our next visit 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow! I feel so accomplished in being able to convince at least one person to try BoB! Glad you were more than satisfied! I might just go back there by the end of the month.

    P.S. Really like that effect (or filter?) you used for the photos 🙂 And good job on trying to capture the inexplicable aura of the place 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment