My Digiperm Experience at Tony & Jackey

Just a short intro. One of my life frustrations is having curly locks, being born with straight but unruly hair. I had wanted to get a digiperm from the first time I heard about it, but the high cost is pretty inhibiting. Not to mention, the lack of salons experienced with the service in my general vicinity. Thankfully, Tony & Jackey opened a branch at the local SM a coupla years ago and the price for the procedure has gone down a bit. They currently have a promo, which I initially wanted to avail:

Tony & Jackey digiperm promo

I inquired a few days ago if this particular promo was available at the SM Batangas City branch and they replied that it indeed was. However, the client’s hair is still subject to assessment if it can withstand the damage without the help of other treatments. So basically, this is for those with natural, untreated, chemically-virgin hair. Like me. 😛 Haha. So I was pretty much set on availing the promo. On Saturday, I went there to finally(!) achieve my childhood dream of having curly locks, like so:

bun curls

However, upon inquiry I discovered that there’s another ongoing promo for a digiperm package for P2,100. That includes the digital perm plus keratin treatment, which normally costs P1,500 for long hair like mine. I went for the package since I figured my hair could use the extra pampering and so it would not be as dry (I read that the procedure kinda dries out the hair). The stylist cut off a good couple of inches of my long hair and then layered it so the resulting curls would be more pronounced. Here are some pictures after the requisite shampooing:

digiperm process

I wasn’t able to fully keep track of the entire procedure since my daughter was there and kept raising a ruckus. 😀 What I do remember is that they first put in “medicine” on my hair after shampooing then wrapped my hair with cling wrap. I think that’s for weakening the bond of the hair to make it hold curls. Then it was “cured” in the helmet-like machine in the second photo. It took around 20 minutes, then the machine and was removed and but the cling wrap remained for another ten minutes or so. I guess my hair is quite resistant to the chemical, that’s why. A couple of times the stylist checked strands of my hair to see if it would hold curls before she finally assessed that it’s sufficient and the chemical was washed off my hair. Then my hair was sectioned then wrapped around the barrels and attached to the “octopus machine” in the photos. 😛 The timer was set for just 13 minutes. Then my hair was allowed to cool still attached to the machine. Then when the curling rods were removed, the stylist sprayed neutralizer on the curls. Then it was washed once more after around 10 minutes then finally dried and styled. The end result?

curls after digiperm

The curls were pretty and very natural-looking but much looser than I initially anticipated. After all, the stylist said she’d give me smaller curls which would loosen with time. I’m afraid with curls this loose, I’d be back to having straight hair sooner than I’m supposed to. She also advised me not to wash my hair for at least 2 days, then taught me how to style my hair. Here’s what my hair looked like the day after:

curls after 1 day

I twisted and scrunched it as per the stylist’s advice and so far, so good. However, I think that not washing my hair is weighing the curls down. And I think I was partly right as evidenced by how it looked the next day, still not washed:

curls after 2 daysThat’s my beloved mother and digiperm sponsor right there. 😉

This morning, I finally washed my hair. I was afraid that the curls would vanish, but that’s just me and my paranoia. I followed the advice of other bloggers who had digipermed hair to just use condition on the initial wash. I still have half a tube of my Human ♥ Nature conditioner so I used that, even sectioning and twisting my locks while soaked with the conditioner. Then I used Monea Curl Defining Milk Lotion (thanks sis Mimi for the info!) to enhance the curls. Here’s how my hair looks like right now:

curls after washHindi po ako galit. 😛

Sorry for that, I just couldn’t get a good angle to show the curls–or lack thereof. I was expecting a bit more curls or at least waves on the upper half of my hair. As you can see, only the lower half of my hair is now curled. 😐 And that’s with near-constant twisting and scrunching. I’m not sure if the stylist intended this style for me, or if my hair is just really resistant to the procedure, or what. I am not quite sure if I am satisfied with the results or not. On one hand my hair still looks natural despite the curly difference and has escaped relatively undamaged, on the other it’s not as curly as I would have wanted. Hmmm… What do you think?

Update:
You can find the products I use to maintain my curls here. 🙂

29 thoughts on “My Digiperm Experience at Tony & Jackey

  1. Hi,

    Magpapa-digiperm sana ako sa kanila this coming Dec. 6. ask ko lang sana kung inii-straight nila ung top part ng hair, ung hindi nila ipeperm? Kasi I have natural wavy hair and I think hindi maganda ung kakalabasan ng digiperm kung hindi straight ung top?

    Thanks 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Products I use for my Curly [digipermed] Hair (a.k.a. The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Maintaining Digipermed Hair) | Mental Snapshots

    • Thanks Abi! 🙂 It’s only been a few days, and so far my hair is not looking any more damaged than it was before the digiperm. And I’m praying and keeping my finger crossed that it would stay that way and not dry out! 😀 Then again, my hair was in its natural untreated state before the digiperm so I think that’s plus points against the potential damage. That, and I am kinda paranoid about the hair damage to be honest, that’s why I always use conditioner as I am supposed to (even if I’m already running late). 😉

      Like

    • We do? I thought you’re kinda chinky (from what little I’ve seen in your blogs) while I have *humongous* peepers. 😀 And I don’t do EOTDs since I rarely wear eye makeup, just a bit of eyeliner to fake looking awake. 😉

      Like

      • Mine’s the same shape as yours, I think. Hooded and a little downturned at the outer corners, I just squint and smiize a little in photos because I will look like a deer in headlights 😛

        Like

        • Ahh, hooded eyes too. One more reason I don’t much like wearing eye makeup, doesn’t really show up all that well on eyes like ours. Unless, like, real heavily piled on. Thanks but no thanks. 😀

          Like

  3. Weeet..weeew.. I soo love the curl.. Hmm If only I did not have my hair rebonded I would try digiperm too, but, geeh baka magmukha naman akong manananggal because I have a dry hair.. I think you looks like not satisfied with your curls,, hmmm!!

    Like

    • Let’s just say I had higher expectations sa pagka-curly dapat ng buhok ko after the digiperm.. 😛 Hehe. Anyway, nagsasanay pa din ako so trial and error pa sa pag-maintain ng curls. Today medyo mas kulot naman siya, siguro nga nasa kung pano din pag-style bago matuyo ang buhok. Hehe.

      Like

  4. Schmexy natural looking curls sis! Parang Victoria’s Secret model hair, woot woot! I know, having curls require a lot of effort. Ako naman, I’ve been contemplating on getting a rebond on my “virgin” hair kaya lang I have this irrational fear of losing all my hair from all that chemicals they’ll put in, haha.

    Like

    • Whether rebonding or perming, damage talaga aabutin ng buhok natin from all those chemicals. Tiis ganda lang talaga. 😀 Haha. If ever you go through with it, just have it done by a reputable salon na lang para less risk. And maybe use the mildest formulations for the procudure? I think meron healing rebond ang T&J kaso mas mahal kesa regular rebonding, at selected branches lang meron.

      Like

  5. Lovely curls,sis. I wish my curls are like that. But because I had it rebonded, its now so brittle and dry. Had it permed last month but it was nothing close to your great curls. 😦

    Like

    • Thanks sis! 🙂 From what I’ve read around the net, rebonded/permed hair needs moisture, moisture and more moisture! With everyday conditioning and perhaps weekly treatment/deep conditioning, your hair will be back to have a healthy bounce. Human ♥ Nature conditioners are supposed to be good for treated hair like ours since they’re organic and gentle. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment