Bitten by the Travel Bug

purple DM bootsWhere will these boots take me?

So the other day, my cousin was able to book a Cebu Pacific promo flight going to Singapore for October travel. The base fare is just P28 but with the taxes and fees the total amounted to approximately P3,300/pax anyway. Still cheaper than the regular ticket price though so I can’t really complain (much anyway). Three of us are going; that’s me, her and my daughter.

But before we got that deal, I was thinking about going to Boracay. You could say it’s pathetic but I have never gone there before in all of my twenty-so years of life. Oh well, there’s always a first time for everything, right? The travel cost can be quite prohibitive, but I have been looking at budget travel blog posts and so far what I have seen have been promising. Going there via 2Go cruise from the nearby Batangas Port seems much cheaper than flying in to Caticlan or Kalibo. There are also backpacker hostels and family-run lodging to accommodate just me or the whole family, whichever the case may be. And for food, I/we can get by on carinderia fare with the occassional gastronomic splurge. Parasailing and helmet diving optional.

I don’t know why it never really occurred to me to travel before. I mean, I have been out of the country twice but that’s about it. Ironically enough, I suddenly get the travel bug right when I am more reluctant than ever to leave the country because of my daughter.

I have spent so much on trivial things which could have gone into travel funds instead. I want to berate myself for that and maybe even knock a hammer blow or two to my head but that won’t solve anything. All I can do now is pray and save up until I have enough to go vacationing somewhere with my daughter in tow.

Speaking of which, her Daddy was not exactly thrilled that I’ll be taking her to Singapore. He said it won’t be easy because she’s still so young and might not even remember the trip later on. I beg to disagree since she has a pretty sharp memory and while she may not remember all the details of the trip, I’m pretty sure she’ll remember the thrill of seeing so many animals on the Singapore Zoo or seeing her beloved Madagascar’s characters (especially Marty the zebra) on Universal Studio. In the end, he ended up helping us look for acceptable (meaning, to his liking) accommodation for his Princess and her two tag-along nannies us anyway. Sweet guy. 😛

Of course I know it won’t be all that easy travelling with a toddler with only her Ninang with us to help with nanny duties. There’s bound to be at least a coupla tantrums in there and plenty of her asking to be carried around. Not to mention it’s a strange new place for us all, with strange people we have to get along with. But that’s the challenge of it, and it’s bound to be a learning experience for her and me alike.

I wish we could all be together and travel as a family soon. Hopefully to Disneyland. Francine would definitely get a kick out of that. 😉

2 thoughts on “Bitten by the Travel Bug

  1. Pingback: Planning a trip is stressing me out | Mental Snapshots

  2. uy wow! nice deal ha! been planning for years to go to bora but nde matuloy tuloy.hopefully this year matuloy na.i’ve read nice reviews about 2go plus malapit pa saten yung port 😉

    Like

Leave a comment