Fuckin’ Perfect

This is not exactly a new song but because I live under a rock I am appreciating it only now. Powerful song. The video may be quite graphic, but the message resonates strongly. The issues of self-acceptance and moving on are central to the song and video both and I can totally relate (but no, I don’t cut myself if that’s what you’re thinking). The last scene where the lead character (played by Tina Majorino) took her childhood teddy bear to her sleeping daughter and whispered “You are perfect to me” is particularly touching.

These days, society is not as stringent about norms as it used to be. The cookie-cutter mold of perfection is not as prevalent as it was before. These days, unique/weird/off-kilter/imperfect is the new norm. Bending or breaking the rules is the in thing to do. Take fashion for example. Used to be that different prints (like stripes and polka dots) must not be worn together. Now, the more contrasting the prints, the better. Not that everyone can pull it off, but you know what I mean. Just look at them fashionistas and fashion bloggers.

Still, acceptance is elusive as ever. More so self-acceptance. And that is what the song tells you: to accept and love yourself, imperfect past and all. You are who you are and what you went through is what shaped you to become the person you are now. Past hurts don’t have to fester and rot you from within, instead they should make you stronger and fiercer in every way. Remember that coal and diamonds come form the same carbon, but it is the extreme heat and pressure that hardens and crystallizes the diamond. Not everything that is broken cannot be fixed, especially the human spirit. Never underestimate the spirit’s ability to heal itself and bounce back. And with that I leave you with an old poem I wrote:

deconstructed

18 thoughts on “Fuckin’ Perfect

  1. That’s what I’ve learned when someone hurt me big time. To never give up, move on and love myself more. The best revenge we could ever do is to become the best we could be. =)

    Like

Leave a comment