Products I use for my Curly [digipermed] Hair (a.k.a. The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Maintaining Digipermed Hair)

Curls as of November 30

The photo above was taken a week after the digiperm and by now, the curls have loosened a bit. After all, it has been almost two months now since I had my hair permed at Tony & Jackey. By trial and error, I have mostly figured out how to style my hair and keep it as curly as I could with the least possible maintenance because I am lazy like that. 😛 The NO Combing rule works pretty much to my advantage since I never really use a comb even when I had straight hair. Seriously, no kidding. So before my thoughts go meandering elsewhere, here are the hair products I use to maintain my curly locks:

.

Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Shampoo & ConditionerFirst up, the requisite shampoo and conditioner. At first I used my Human ♥ Nature conditioner, but since I was obsessed with keeping my hair as curly as possible, I followed the stylist’s advice to use products specially made for curly or permed hair. So I got this tandem from the Herbal Essences Totally Twisted line. Kinda pricey compared to the regular stuff at P225 per bottle, but I have used their Hello Hydration line and liked it so I had some assurance that they’d be at the very least okay. And thankfully, they did not disappoint. My hair did indeed look more curly compared to when I was using regular shampoo and conditioner. The fact that they smell nice and fruity does not hurt either. 😉 For the record, I use the conditioner everyday and the shampoo only every other day as per my stylist’s advice. This said, I am already on my second bottle of conditioner while still halfway into the first bottle of shampoo. However, I noticed that my hair curls more when shampooed–probably because the shampoo strips the off the gunk weighing down the curls. Still, I don’t risk shampooing my hair everyday lest it dry out completely (yes, I am paranoid like that).

.

Monea Curl Defining Milk Hair LotionI got this immediately after leaving the salon. The stylist was recommending their own products but they were a bit pricey (though I did not really ask the exact price, but you know these things) so I bought Monea Curl Defining Milk Hair Lotion instead. A few days prior to getting a digiperm, I was in a fit of madness researching all I could about the procedure and the maintenance products I would need. This product came up frequently and was recommended by a fellow blogger, though the reviews all in all were mixed. But at just P99 a bottle, I figured it wouldn’t hurt so much to scrap it if it didn’t work for me. Thankfully, it did work for me though it took some trial and error to figure out how to use it and how much of the stuff I really need in one go to style my hair. That is, a flat drop approximately the size of a 5-peso coin for my medium-length towel-dried hair and then scrunch, scrunch, SCRUNCH until my finger joints cramp. 😛 It does define the curls, but leaves a sorta greasy film when too much product is applied. Otherwise it makes my hair look pretty decently curled and with considerably less frizz compared to when I don’t use it.

.

Lucido-L Hair Make Supplement Treatment Oil for Permed HairNow, I got this Lucido-L Hair Make Supplement Treatment Oil (what a mouthful, geez) mostly because I got swayed by style blogger Tricia Gosingtian‘s post about Lucido-L products. My hair did not exactly dry out like I feared after the digiperm, but I did not want to take chances either (even with the copious amount of conditioner I am using). I don’t really use this everyday though, only when I feel like it. Maybe 2-3 times a week. Supposedly, you are to use it at night on damp hair after washing as it is really an overnight treatment. But since I wash my hair in the morning when I take a bath, I apply it on dry unwashed hair at night. 😛 It smells good and it does make hair look healthy and glossy although I gotta say it loosens the curls so I am left with big waves instead. Which actually doesn’t look bad at all, I must say. I also use this on days when I am just at home, instead of the Monea.

Those are pretty much it. I have so far managed to survive having curly hair on just those products so anyone else afraid of getting a digiperm on account of its supposed high maintenance could be somehow assured that yes, even the laziest girls like moi can do it. 😉 In fact here are a couple more tips:

  • Like I said in the earlier part of the post, do NOT comb your hair. If you must, do it with a wide-toothed comb when you have conditioner your hair.
  • Do not rub your hair dry with a towel. Just squeeze and scrunch the excess water out by hand or with the towel. Just don’t rub, okay?
  • You could section your hair and twist them while still damp and then apply your styling product for them to hold the curl. This doesn’t work for me though.
  • As much as possible, use products made for permed or curly hair. They really do help in keeping the curls intact.
  • Lastly, enjoy your curly hair! 😀

.

UPDATE (01.14.14):
This is how my hair looks like seven weeks after the digiperm. The other side is actually a bit curlier than this, but I am badly breaking out on the left side of my face and don’t really wanna gross you out so I hope you’ll forgive me for not showing that side as well. Without further ado, here’s the photo I took yesterday:

curls 7 weeks after digiperm

17 thoughts on “Products I use for my Curly [digipermed] Hair (a.k.a. The Lazy Girl’s Guide to Maintaining Digipermed Hair)

    • Got them from Watson’s, but as far as I know they’ve been discontinued. Sorry. 😦 The only brand I know that has products especially for permed hair is Pantene.

      Like

    • I got them all from Watson’s. Sadly, phased out na daw yung Totally Twisted line from Herbal Essences. 😦 Dunno if they’re gonna replace it with another, pero so far wala pa ulit ako nakikita. In the meantime, I use another conditioner from the same brand, the Hydralicious Self-Targeting Conditioner.

      Like

  1. Pingback: My Digiperm Experience at Tony & Jackey | Mental Snapshots

  2. I’m eyeing Argan oil next, but it’s quite expensive and read good reviews. Promise ko sa sarili ko uubusin ko muna yung mga hair care products ko (virgin coconut oil). Hirap maging kulot, hihi.

    Like

    • I’m eyeing a coupla hair products too (Lucido-L Styling Milk (Curl) and Suave Professionals Captivating Curls Mousse) but I’m restraining myself until the Monea runs out before buying either. 😀 True, being curly does take some maintenance but I’m cool with it because I am so loving curly hair on me!

      Like

  3. My teenager has digipermed hair (also from tony & jacky).Before she had her last one last november, her curls lasted for over a year (she has digipermed hair for three years na). I used to buy her that wax at tony and jacky pero ang mahal hehe but now she just uses any hair product like vitress and the free pantene hair care stuff from bdj and blow dry while scrunching her curls like crazy and it works naman. Her hair is healthy and the curls are gorgeous pa rin which makes me think of getting one too

    Like

    • Go for it sis! I hope my curls would last that long too. As it is, very loose na yung curls even with all that scrunching, almost waves na and it’s only been seven weeks since the digiperm. 😐 I guess my hair is a bit more resistant to the chemicals or the procedure since it was chemically untreated before the digiperm.

      Like

  4. I can totally relate! Sometimes, my curls look fabulous, especially when I use shampoo for digi permed hair. Pero now, I use Pantene shampoo na paraben free. Love it. Tapos sis, try the Finesse Self ADjusting Curling Mousse. Soooo effective. Kaya lg medyo dry tingnan hair mo. Kaya kinocombo ko sila ng baby oil. Hehe. Gentle ko lg nilalagay yung oil pag feel ko mag wet look yung hair ko. Other curlies kasi, parang wet yung hair nila all the time. Kaya mukhang neat. Do you know how to do this? ANd sis I also bought the TNJ curling product pero it wasn’t effective. So I dumped it. In favor of Finesse. And, the no brushing thing? Works. Haha. 🙂 Enjoyed your post.

    Like

    • Thank sis! 🙂 Do you blow dry your hair at all, even just at the roots? Usually kasi kasama yun sa directions for use ng mousses eh, kaya nagdadalawang-isip ako. :/ Haha. Don’t know how to do the “wet look curls” except for maybe applying more than the usual amount of Monea, but then again it just feels so heavy and makes my hair look greasy. Haven’t tried using a shine serum before Monea though, that might work. Nalalagkitan nga lang ako, naiisip ko pa lang na magkasama yung products sa buhok ko. 😛 Haha.

      Like

  5. Is hair lotion any good? 🙂 I had my hair cold permed from some random parlor hehe but so far, it’s all good. I’ve been using a mousse to maintain my curls all through out the day. 🙂

    Happy curly 2014 to us! Hehe!

    Like

    • It’s okay, hold the curls. I’m halfway through the bottle and I’m planning to try mousse next. What mousse are you using? I am eyeing Suave Professionals Captivating Curls Cream Mousse from Watsons. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment