My “kikay” kit

Let me begin this post by saying that I am now officially embracing my long-repressed kikay self. πŸ˜‰

my kikay kit

At eto na po ang suma tutal ng pagiging kikay ko. πŸ˜›

Got inspired to do this post after today’s event (read, the interminable heat). As I said in my prior post, I was sweating practically all day and just felt totally disgusting. I took pains with my appearance this morning and I was kinda depressed by the thought that it was all for nothing as I wiped and wiped and wiped my face all day. As it was, I happened to look at the reflective window of a vehicle we passed going back to out parked van and to my utter surprise, I did not look nearly as disgusting as I felt. In fact, except for my messy hair, I actually looked quite decent. And just to make sure, I checked my mirror when we got to the van. My skin, which I was expecting to look like a melted cake because of the BB creams and powder, looked just pleasantly dewy and otherwise fresh–with the sole exception of the oil mine that is my nose anyway. You could say I had an epiphany right then. πŸ˜›

And now, on to the numerous (for me anyway) products I used today. These are also the same and only products I use whenever I go out. In the order of how I use them, here goes:

celeteque water-based

Celeteque water-based moisturizer

Despite having another moisturizer in stock, I still use this most of the time because it’s water-based and feels lighter on the skin especially in this damn summer heat.

Missha M Perfect Cover B.B Cream No. 23

Missha M Perfect Cover B.B Cream No. 23

I use this on my nose (to conceal the redness and control the oilies) and under my eyes (to conceal my dark eye-maletas). I do not use this on my cheeks since it caused some zits to pop up the last time I did that, months and months ago. Oh, and also because it has a grayish undertone when used for anything more than minor concealing. I am loving this photo by the way. πŸ˜‰

Etude House BB Magic Cream

Etude House BB Magic Cream

This I use for concealing/minimizing the red and dark spots on my cheeks and on pimples (if I happen to have any). I also use a bit of this on my temples as a highlighter of sorts since this blends better than Missha with my skin tone and gives me a nice healthy glow.

Maybelline Clear Smooth Shine-free Face Powder

Maybelline Clear Smooth Shine-free Face Powder

I use the shade Nude Beige. My face is not that oily except for my nose, so I could get away with using this fully just once for setting the BB creams (I like my skin a bit dewy and not totally matte)Β and retouch only my nose throughout the day. And true to its claim in the TVC, it really is sweat- and heat-proof as I just proved today. I noticed that even while wiping my face, there was only wetness on the tissue paper and none of the powder I used. And at the end of the day, my face looked just dewy and not oily (again, except for my nose).

Careline Oil-control Blush-on

Careline Oil-control Blush-on

I got the shade Rosy Cheek. For something so cheap affordable, it surpassed my expectations. I do not own a blush brush so the cute puff this came with came in quite handy and actually did a decent enough job not making me look like a clown. πŸ˜› The blush is quite pigmented so a little goes a long way, especially since I only use this to give my pale face some semblance of a healthy flush. It lasts quite long too so I did not bother to retouch at all all day. Oh, and I only used this for the first time today. Thankfully the color looked just like a natural flush against my skin tone.

Nichido Eye Pencil

Nichido Eye Pencil

I actually do not use this as an eyeliner. Rather, I use this as an eyebrow pencil. I got the shade Dark Brown since it’s the closest color to my natural eyebrows. I only use this to fill in and add definition to the sparse areas in my eyebrowsΒ (I have childhood scar on my left brow). Got to keep a light hand in using this since I do not want to have unnatural, looks-like-tattooed eyebrows.

Maybelline Lash Stiletto Mascara

Maybelline Lash Stiletto Mascara

This truly is waterproof. I can attest to that. Because if it wasn’t I would have ended up with raccoon eyes and a muddy face with the way I was sweating and wiping my face all day. Oh, and yeah, it really does lengthen the lashes. Promise! πŸ˜€ I just don’t like the strong smell when you open the tube, but at least that goes away pretty quickly.

Human β™₯ Nature Lip Balms

Human β™₯ Nature Lip Balms

In Choco-Vanilla and Peppermint. I think I’ve sung enough praises for these two in my past post, don’t you think? πŸ˜‰

Lip Ice tinted lip balms

Lip Ice tinted lip balms

Because I still am not comfortable wearing even myΒ Human β™₯ Nature lipstick, I use any of these two to give my puckers some much-needed color. The pink tube is the changeable Sheer Color Lip Balm while the white tube is the Candy Apple Color Balm, both from Mentholatum Lip Ice.

So there. Sorry for the long and picture-heavy post, and the inconsistent photography. I just recycled some old photographs and took quick photos of others. πŸ˜›

Anywho, I hope this was of some help to someone somehow. How about you, have you used any of these products? What can you say about it/them? πŸ™‚

siggy1

14 thoughts on “My “kikay” kit

  1. Pingback: Day 47: Not exactly an FOTD « Work in Progress

  2. Pingback: Day 31: Newest additions « Work in Progress

  3. Pingback: Nothing like new stuff to bring back my mojo! « Work in Progress

  4. Pingback: Dupes? « Work in Progress

  5. I MUST get that mascara! :)) But maybe after I finished a tube of Avon mascara my mom just bought me (I’ve been using the brand since forever). Have you tried Myra’s facial moisturizer? I wonder if Celeteque works better πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Which Avon mascara did your mom get? Is it the Super Shock? I’m kinda curious about that particular Avon mascara too, but I’m sticking with Lash Stiletto for now. πŸ˜‰ I have tried the Myra facial moisturizer with SPF 15 (the one with the orange cap), and okay naman. But I like Celeteque better kasi water-based so lighter talaga sa skin. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment